Season 3 Oval Round #2

Full event results and lap times here

Full Live Stream Replay


RC Sports continued its steady growth in 2024 with Oval Round #2, which saw a record 33 entries and 61 race cars in attendance on February 16th, 2024.  The Mini Stock Kids class was loaded with 11 drivers, and the Spec Slash class was once again the biggest field with 16 trucks.  Kyle Schroeder and co returned to action for the first time in Season 2, and Aiden Zwiers made his RC Sports debut as well.  Ben Moore ran the mains after Andrew had to head out for a buying trip and did a fantastic job at the controls.  Here are the race results!

Defending winner Auden Palm was once again the man to beat in the Mini Stock class, backing up his Round 1 win with a Round 2 sweep in the kids class.  Defending class champion Oliver Juliar scored a pair of second-place finishes.  Layla Riesenweber finished third in the heat, but could not hold off a hard-charging Lennox Uridil for third in the main.  Simon Danforth-Hill finished 5th, Maddox Uridil 6th, Parker Hawley 7th, Hendrix Uridil 8th, Naomi Schroeder 9th, Corbin Feldkamp 10th, Corben Schroeder 11th (DNF).

Mini Turbo had a smaller group of 5 cars – Ben Moore top-qualified in the heat race over Mike Karl and Shane Thomas, but Mike Karl would not be denied the victory in the Main.  Charlie Reed took second place followed by Shane Thomas.  Travis Riesenweber suffered a breakage early in the heat race but had the car fixed for the main and logged a full race.  Ben Moore took 5th while announcing the race, and Robert Hawley entered a new car and got some track time for 6th.

Keith Juliar took early control of the first Spec Slash qualifier and stayed out front for an H1 win.  Mike Karl did the same in H2 but could not top Keith’s fast time so Keith would start out front in the feature.  After some early mayhem in the B-Main, Kyle Schroeder ran away from the pack and won the race to bump up to the A-Main.  More early mayhem in the A-Main had Kyle leading lap 6 early on, and then Shane Thomas led several laps, before Mike Karl took back over for good.  Kyle Schroeder finished just 1.5 seconds ahead of TQ Keith Juliar to take second after racing out of the B-main.  Keith rounded out the podium followed by Ben Moore and Shane Thomas in the top 5.  Dean Juliar finished 6th, Kyle Kallies 7th, Riley Reinke 8th, Collin St. Amour 9th, Travis Riesenweber 10th, Blake Warner 11th, Aiden Zwiers 12th, Ethan Geiger 13th, Dan Riesenweber 14th, Wayne Warner 15th.

Ben Moore won TQ honors in the Mini Buggy division, holding off Shane Thomas and Kyle Schroeder by 1 lap each after Mike Karl suffered an early breakage.  Mike got the buggy back together for the A-Main and cruised to a 6-lap win with a fast lap of 3.81.  Shane Thomas logged a 2nd place finish and Kyle Schroeder took 3rd, both running WLToys models.  Ben Moore logged some laps between calling the race and finished 4th.

12 Supercars did battle on the oval on Friday night, and Dean Juliar was the first to score a qualifier win with his Traxxas 4-Tec.  Shane Thomas classed the field and Top-Qualified out of race 2.  Ben Moore lost a driveshaft from his Team Associated Apex car and had to switch to his backup Traxxas 4-Tec, but was able to race the Traxxas car into the A-Main by winning the B.  Keith Juliar and Shane Thomas traded the lead back and forth all race long in the A, running on the same lap the entire time in a 5-minute nail biter! Ultimately, Shane was able to hang on for the win by just a 0.46-second margin.   Ben Moore raced his way all the way up to 3rd by the end.  Dean Juliar had his best night racing Supercars and took 4th, followed by Mike Karl in 5th.  Randy Kempen finished 6th, Kyle Schroeder 7th, Riley Reinke 8th, Dan St. Amour 9th, Kyle Kallies 10th, Collin St. Amour 11th, Dallas Court 12th

Defending champion and round 1 winner Randy Kempen was out front by lap 10 of the Super Ten heat number 1, and went on to win by a 4 lap margin and earned the TQ position for the night.  Kyle Kallies won the second heat to qualify for the A-Main outright.  Dallas Court led the B-Main early on but Dean Juliar topped Kyle Schroeder to advance to A.  Mike Karl charged to an early lead in the night’s premier race, but dropped to 4th on lap 14.  Randy Kempen and Keith Juliar then engaged in the best Super Ten oval battle we’ve seen so far, running lock-step for four solid minutes and trading the lead back and forth several times.  Ultimately, Randy was able to pull away in the closing laps to go two-for-two on the season.  Keith had to settle for 2nd with his late model, and Shane Thomas stood on the box in 3rd.  Mike Karl finished 4th, Kyle Kallies 5th, Dean Juliar 6th, Kyle Schroeder 7th, Dan St. Amour 8th, Dallas Court 9th, Joey Baum 10th, Auden Palm 11th.

Thank you to our huge group of attendees and spectators for pushing our attendance and registration to high levels once again!  This season has been incredible and we’re so grateful to be at this point less than a year after opening our doors.  Big thanks to Ben Moore for running the mains so I could get a couple hours of sleep before my Saturday morning swap meet in Illinois and to Sharon & Craig for helping with the lights and lineup late.  The fun rolls on to Road Course Round 2 this coming Friday, February 23rd.    

Full lap times and results:

Join the oval racers group: